Anand Mahindra has announced that India’s three gold medalists at the recent Tokyo 2020 Olympic and Paralympic Games will receive custom-designed XUV700 SUVs. They are called Mahindra XUV700 Javelin Edition and could be released in the coming weeks. As far as we know, only three units of the XUV700 Special Edition will be designed for Niraj Chopra, Avani Lehar and Sumit Antila, who won gold medals for the Indian team.

What’s the update?

Mahindra recently registered the name ‘Javelin’ and today Anand Mahindra, President of Mahindra and Mahindra, confirmed via Twitter that the name will be used in a special version of the upcoming XUV700 SUV. In a tweet to Pratap Bose, the Chief Design Officer for the automotive and agricultural sectors, Mahindra and Mahindra asked him to build three XUV700 Javelin Edition SUVs.

The first XUV700 Javelin Edition will go to Niraj Chopra, who won the gold medal in javelin throw for India at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. Neeraj is the second Indian to win a gold medal at subsequent Olympic Games. Abhinav Bindra won the gold medal in the 10-meter air rifle shooting at the 2008 Beijing Olympics. 

The second part of the XUV700 Javelin Edition will congratulate Avani Lekhara, who is now part of Indian history as the first woman to win a gold medal at the Paralympic Games. She competes in the SH1 Women’s 10m Air Rifle. The third XUV700 Javelin Edition will be given to Paralympian Sumit Antil, who won the gold medal in javelin throw at the Paralympic Games.

While there are no details on what will set the XUV700 Javelin Edition apart from the standard version, we expect minor cosmetic touches or distinctive paint tones for these exclusive XUV700 SUVs.

In addition, Mahindra will install two of the three XUV700s with special modifications for disabled people to provide more revenue. These two units are expected to be built for Avani Lekhara and Sumit Antil. Perhaps in the future, Mahindra will present to the public specially designed SUVs for people with disabilities.

Anand Mahindra has supported many sporting events for some time. Six members of the Indian cricket team received the Mahindra Thar SUV earlier this year. These include Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj, Shubman Gill, T. Natarajan, Navdeep Saini and Washington Sundar for their victories in the India Australia series.